The Blind Side overshadows Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (atleast for me)

May be I am in that phase of life to like The Blind Side more than ZNMD

The Blind Side is a 2009 American semi-biographical drama film.  For her performance, Sandra Bullock won the Academy Award for Best Actress, as well as the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress and the Screen Actors Guild Award for Outstanding Performance by a Female Actor in a Leading Role. The film itself also received an Academy Award nomination for Best Picture.

 It is the story of Michael Oher, a homeless and traumatized boy who became an All American football player and first round NFL draft pick with the help of a caring woman and her family.

It so happened that I have seen these two movies on the same day in the reverse order – ZNMD ahead of The Blind Side. Actually I have seen The Blind Side very reluctantly on Sunny’s insistence at their place. I said ‘reluctantly’ because I wanted to spend some time with Sunny and Akhil and watch the movie quietly at home.  But no regrets – I have enjoyed the movie to the core.

There is one dialogue in the movie which really hits deep into my heart (actually a slap on my face) and changed my perspective of my very own life. The conversation goes like this:

One friend of Leigh Anne says to Leigh Anne “You are changing that boy’s life'” and immediately Leigh shoots the bullet – “No, he is changing mine” – very powerful dialogue. People may not pay too much attention to this dialogue but it is so striking to me as I always tell people relating to my voluntary activities (especially teaching, that is where my main focus is) that I would be happy if I change the lives of at least few people. After I watched this movie, it changed my perspective of my very own life  – Actually they are changing my life.

Few more instances that are very touching in the movie – when the coach met the teachers and principal of the school pleading for admitting Mike into school irrespective of his poor grades – the coach pointed to the Motive of the school – Christian and says we either take that seriously or we paint over it

And the school hoarding reads –

With Man this thing is Possible

With God All things are Possible

And on day 1, when she brought Mike to their house, she asked her husband before they go to bed, You don’t think he will steal anything, do you? and her cool husband says we will find out tomorrow. He is so kool too and the kids especially SJ. When she provided Mike his own bedroom and Mike says Never had one before and she asks him what a room to yourself? and he replies bed. I can go on writing about every shot (at least most of the shots)

No doubt ZNMD is very entertaining but there is nothing to touch the heart (my opinion only). And of course there is no comparison between these two movies. Since I saw the two movies one after the other, I could not resist comparing the movies and I would like to pick my favorite. No offense to ZNMD.

One thought on “The Blind Side overshadows Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (atleast for me)

Leave a Reply

