The importance of Chanadal in our meal

Many of you might have already known about the importance of this dal and also about Dr.Mendosa’s website. Actually Kameswari has recommended this site to me (I guess in 2006), when my husband got diagnosed with diabetes. You may think why am I bringing it to everyone’s attention at this point and some may even wonder whether I have diabetes – NO, I am not diabetic, but somehow for the last few days, I am eating boiled chennadal (not completely boiled, but boiled enough) + with some vegetable/s of my choice as a snack and it is very filling, so I remembered its nutritional value and medicinal value too and thought of sharing with everyone I care about.
 

With its low glycemic index, channadal is the staple food for any one. The glycemic index is about the quality of the carbohydrates, not the quantity.

When you make use of the glycemic index to prepare healthy meals, it helps to keep your blood glucose levels under control. This is especially important for people with diabetes, although athletes and people who are overweight also stand to benefit from knowing about this relatively new concept in good nutrition.

Especially for people with diabetes, I strongly recommend this food in some form or other everyday. You can read more about it at Dr.Mendosa’s website and at the very end of the home page, we can find innumerable recipes.

Mendosa.com – Living with diabetes

http://www.mendosa.com/chanadal.html

About glycemic index

http://www.mendosa.com/gilists.htm

My favorite recipe of Channa dal (which my mom used to make and I loved it when I was a kid) – I’ll add it in my recipes section soon.

Leave a Reply

