What makes the great GREAT

What Makes The Great GREAT by Denis P. Kimbro

The following is an excerpt from this book. My husband bought this book from Barnes and Noble long time ago. And he had put together some of the gems from this book and I used to hand this sheet in my office room. While I was moving between different offices, I had put this one in the office drawers which suddenly came out today when I was cleaning stuff in my office as I am going to move to a new office from 1st Feb. So I decided to post this matter on my blog and hang this again in my new office. While I am writing this, something came to my mind. My husband started writing a book ‘Experiencing God’ which he could not complete for various reasons. I should try to bring that book into limelight.

———

People with great dreams know no poverty

Each one of us is as rich as our own dreams

 Build it well, whatever you do

Build it straight and strong and true

Build it clean and high and broad

Build it for the eye of God

 Goethe: Are you in earnest? Seize this very minute. What you can do, or dream you can, begin it! Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Only engage, and the mind grows heated. Begin and then the work will be completed.

 What makes the great GREAT?

Here is the quality of personality that many successful people share. No matter how they differ, there is an attitude, a quiet assurance based on self-knowledge that says to the effect. “I have been tried in some tough situations and I have passed the test, I know what I am. The successful shares a special power. They conduct their affairs with a sense of purpose. Their priorities are clear and they orchestrate the events of their lives with a masterful touch. High achievers move smoothly from one phase of their lives to the next. No motion is wasted.

 Here is what some of them say:

  •  Life is a grindstone, but whether it grinds you down or polishes you up depends upon what you are made of.
  • You may not be responsible for getting knocked down, but you are certainly responsible for getting back up!
  • “Sing loud,” my father always told me, “Just in case someone is listening. Talent helps. But greatness has more in common with nerve than it ever will with ability.”
  • He prayed, not to have more, but to be more, not for fame, but to be transformed.
  • Learn to meet hard times with a harder will. If you work two years of your life like others won’t, you will spend the rest of your life like others can’t.
  • Everyone fears something. Though worry and trepidations may crowd your thoughts, there is always room for faith, so if you attempt something great and find your knees shaking, try kneeling on them (to God). Failure or death wins no victory over such people.
Leave a Reply

