Mushroom fried rice

My husband used to love it. Mushroom is a vegetable and most of my very close circle friends have some misconceptions of mushrooms;  may be the places where they were grown without any proper cultivation. I was also not used to mushroom when I was growing up. But it mushroomed into our house through my husband. So initially I did not know how to cook. I even could not take the smell that comes when I pressure cooked them. I started cooking mushrooms together with potatoes like koorma curry. Suddenly one day, I pressure cooked them and made a fry with little more onions and I just added some turmeric powder, salt and freshly ground black pepper. I really love the taste of freshly ground pepper. My husband and I instantly loved the taste of that curry when mixed with rice. So from there I found the roots for my mushroom fried rice. Of course, I have made it little tastier by adding few more spices. So it was born accidentally, but tastes yummy.

Ingredients:

1. Basmati rice – 1 cup

2. Mushrooms – 1 packet may be around 10 mushrooms

3. Onions, medium-sized  – 2

4. Plum tomatoes, medium-sized – 2

5. Ginger (small piece) and garlic

6. Green chillies – 2 or 3 small ones

7. Black pepper – 2 teaspoons (more or less depends on your taste)

8. Cloves 3 – 4; cinnamon stick very small piece; cardamom – 3 to 4;

9. Dry coconut powder – 3 to 4 table spoons

10. dhania powder – 1 teaspoon and fresh coriander leaves (kotthimeera)

10, oil, salt and turmeric powder

Cook rice separately with less water (one and half cup water for one cup rice). I usually pressure cook mushrooms. My pressure cokker doesn’t whistle. It starts making some sounds but no whistles. So I guess I cook them for 30 mnutes. But if you go with whistles, wait for 5 to 6 whistles. After pressure cooked them, I individually wash each mushroom again and cut it nto 4 to 6 pieces depending on its size. Saute onion pieces in 5 to 6 table spoons of oil and once they turn little brown, add tomato pieces and cook for 2 to 3 minutes and add the cut mushroom pieces and let them all cook for 5 minutes. Then add turmeric powder, salt, and dhania powder. Mince ginger, garlic and green chillies and add that paste to the curry and let it cook for another 5 to 10 minutes. Then add the freshly ground black pepper and dry coconut powder and let it cook for another 5 minutes.

Once the rice is done, add 2 to 3 tablespoons of oil, little salt and turmeric powder to the rice and mix it well (like we do pulihora) and then add the mushroom curry to the rice and mix it well. If you want, you can keep all the contents in a big pan and put it on the stove with a low flame and mix it well. make a powder of cloves, cinnamon and cardamom and add it to the rice and mix it one more time. And finally garnish with coriander leaves.

Voila, mushroom fried rice is ready.

