“You’ve got to give a little, take a little ” – Guess Who is Coming to Dinner

guesswhoiscomingtodinnerGuess Who Is Coming To Dinner – The film contains a (then rare) positive representation of the controversial subject of interracial marriage, which historically had been illegal in most states of the United States, and still was illegal in 17 states—mostly Southern states—until 12 June 1967.

I have seen this movie several times – I adore this movie – Katherine Hepburn, Spencer Tracy – nailed their performances #ToATee. loved it. No lesser performances from Sidney Poitier and Katharine Houghton (Katherine Hepburn’s niece)

I happened to see this movie again with my niece, Prithi.

small glimpse of the amazing performance from Ms. Hepburn – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7__WVG7vM8

No matter how many times I had seen this movie, I haven’t read about anything related to this movie on the net. I didn’t know anything about off screen details except Ms. Hepburn and Mr. Tracey had a living together relationship. And another interesting fact is she had lived in a townhouse 4 streets away from my place in New York.

Yesterday for some reason I was reading about Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy and I was shocked to know that Spencer Tracy was critically ill when this movie was happening and passed away 2 weeks after this movie finished shooting. He was not alive to see this movie on the big screen and Katherine Hepburn could not see the movie completely as she was emotionally connected to Mr. Tracy and memories of Tracy were so painful. It happened almost 50 years ago, but some how it affected me very much as it happened yesterday and I was choked by emotion and felt very sad as it happened to someone very close to me. and then I started reading about Spencer Tracy and it was very painful to read about his suffering, addiction to alcohol and his infidelity. But somehow I am very happy that he had begun a life long relationship with Katharine Hepburn (for 26 years) and she became devoted to him and their relationship lasted until his death. And Tracy spent the majority of the last two years at home with Hepburn, living what she described as a quiet life: reading, painting and listening to music

Some how I was literally awestruck when I listened to this song yesterday which never happened to me in my earlier views of this movie. Here is the lyrics

THE GLORY OF LOVE

You’ve got to give a little, take a little 
And let your poor heart break a little 
That’s the story of, 
That’s the glory of love 

You’ve got to laugh a little, cry a little 
Until the clouds roll by a little 
That’s the story of, 
That’s the glory of love 

As long as there’s the two of us 
We’ve got the world and all its charms 
And when the world is through with us 
We’ve got each other’s arms 

You’ve got to win a little, lose a little 
Yes, and always have the blues a little 
That’s the story of, 
That’s the glory of love 

That’s the story of, 
That’s the glory of love

and watch the full song here – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JW8qwOrPJQs

Just watch this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SbFOOgXmxD – Mr. Tracy asking the waitress about an ice-cream he has eaten earlier which he did not remember its name and after she served another one which he thought that it would be the one ; but it is not but he liked even the new one she served and telling her to remember its name so that she could serve this one in his next visit – through this whole episode some how he had so many resemblances to my husband and this reminded me my husband.

His Dinner Speech in the movie – must watch- I want to write every word he spoke- every word is priceless – touches my heart very deeply.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d6QiEqWcYrA&list=PLGfxWh3lNFWHO-l3L6GrMXqLoQxwsE1kb

“The memories are there: clear, intact and indestructible” so touching, so emotional and it was very heart touching to see the teary eyes of Ms. Hepburn – those certainly speak her love towards him – both real and reel; the concern and emotional roller coaster that she has been on – again both real and reel.

And the astonishing fact is that Mr. Tracy did not appear on the screen that he had been terminally ill. I wonder why he couldn’t get an Oscar for his performance even though he had been nominated for this role, but Ms. Hepburn got the Oscar – well deserved.

Mr. Spencer and Ms. Hepburn – this is a small tribute to my most adorable people, still feeling sad for Mr. Tracy – even when I am penning these few things going over my heart and my mind …. Love you both

Leave a Reply

