Fruit basket

imageAs part of my New York Cares Winter Wish program, for the past couple of years, I have been answering 25 letters from senior citizens. Most of them most of the times ask for bed sheet sets or comforters which I buy from Macys and directly ship them to the center. This year, one lady who is 69 years old asked for food basket or fruit basket. I decided to make a fruit basket and hand it over to the center in person. They are having a party tomorrow and I was asked to bring it tomorrow. I have been making Easter baskets to our dear Arya for a few years and I used to make Diwali sweet gift hampers to my friends and family and colleagues. But I never made a fruit basket. So I watched a video on youtube last week and I got confidence and I bought few baskets and ordered the cellphone bags from Amazon.com.

Today I bought fruits – green Apples, red Apples, Oranges, Bananas, Pears (three different types),  Plums, Peaches, Watermelon, Cherries, Grape fruit, Kiwis, Persommon, Strawberries and also I have added some spaghetti, Chipotle salsa, Lingt chocolates, Italian baguette, Italian Panettone cake and some hot cocoa packets.

 

I dropped the empty basket in to the cellophane bag and I used my shredder to cut the paper to fill the base of the basket and I used bamboo skewers to attach to the back of the chocolate to make it stand in the basket.

and then I filed up the basket with all the stuff. Naaku konchem asa lavu peeka sannam – hehehe. I bought so much stuff for the basket, so the basket has become very bulky, I could have made two baskets with the stuff I have. I am very much worried how I could carry this one to the center (which is located in Bronx) tomorrow in the subway. Just praying to Baba to make my journey painless and smooth. He would’t let me down at any circumstance and especially when I am doing with all good will.

I am very happy to make the basket and feeling little emotional too. I need someone to pat my back for what ever I am accomplishing. Thanks for experiencing God in everything I do. and thank you very much for every opportunity in life … Counting on innumerable blessings ….

 

2 thoughts on “Fruit basket

  1. Very touching Sarada Garu.. I’m sure the old people’s wishes n blessing that have been showered on u are just as sweet as the basket!!👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻

Leave a Reply

